如何增强免疫力

如何增强免疫力

您是否对每个变化的季节都感到不适?还是您的病假数量每个月都在增加?经常由于疾病而错过工作和家庭时间?

我们知道,季节的变化和流行病的蔓延会令人担心自己的健康。它们不仅带来身心上的挑战,而且还会使您花上更多的钱。

但是,您可以采取什么措施来摆脱这些痛苦呢?

然而,限制病假的最好方法是增强免疫力。是的,与其花费大量金钱在药品和医药费上,不如采取预防措施以加强您的身体的自然防御系统。因此,下面有三种增强免疫力的简单方法,但是在此之前,我们先了解一下人体防御系统的功能。

什么是免疫系统?

免疫系统是特殊的细胞,器官和化学物质的总和,它们可以主动抵抗体内的感染和有害物质-这种现象被称为免疫。

免疫系统有哪些成分?

免疫系统的主要部分是:

白血球 (WBCs)

也被称为白细胞,白血球是不同类型的血细胞,形成免疫系统的主要部分。它们包括:

  • 吞噬细胞:细胞吞食任何入侵生物和异物进入人体。
  • 中性粒细胞:细胞专门针对细菌,是最早到达损伤部位的细胞。在细菌感染病例的血液报告中可见中性粒细胞的特定增加。
  • 淋巴细胞:通过识别传染性生物体并记住它们以备将来防御之用,在免疫中起重要作用的细胞。淋巴细胞有两种:B淋巴细胞和T淋巴细胞。根据它们从骨髓中产生后的迁移位点以及它们与疾病的抵抗机制进行分类。出生后留在骨髓中并成熟的细胞称为B细胞。以及那些迁移到胸腺并成熟的细胞被称为T细胞。
    • B细胞识别入侵者并分泌将其隔离的抗体,并将其锁定在一个位置。
    • 而T细胞直接破坏B淋巴细胞和免疫系统的其他细胞呈现给他们的微生物,因此被称为杀伤细胞。

抗体

这些是B细胞分泌的特殊蛋白质,不仅可以锁定和隔离入侵者,还可以中和它们产生的毒素(有毒或破坏性物质)。

补体系统

这些是另一组蛋白质和糖蛋白,它们是由人体的各种组织和细胞如肝脏,巨噬细胞,血液单核细胞以及消化道和泌尿道的特殊细胞分泌的。它们增强抗体的活性和吞噬细胞以破坏微生物和感染细胞。

免疫系统如何起作用?

每当体内细胞识别出异物(病毒,细菌,毒素等)时,人体的免疫系统就会被激活。免疫系统的特化细胞例如嗜中性粒细胞,吞噬细胞和淋巴细胞被募集到受侵袭的部位,在这些部位它们一起起作用以杀死侵袭性物质,也就是抗原。吞噬细胞吞噬抗原,而中性粒细胞释放杀死入侵者的细胞因子。 B淋巴细胞通过分泌将抗原锁定在一个位置的抗体来协助其他细胞发生有效作用。

这与大多数疫苗的功能相似。将少量抗原引入体内,该抗原的数量很大,可以激活免疫系统产生抗体,但不足以引起感染。这些抗体终生会在人体中持久存在,并防止该试剂将来感染。

有几种类型的免疫力?

人类具有三种类型的免疫力—先天性,适应性和被动性:

    1. 先天免疫力:或自出生以来我们体内存在的天然内在免疫力。其中包括皮肤的例子:对环境和粘膜的屏障:清除传染性生物的呼吸道和消化道。
    2. 适应性免疫:或主动免疫是我们一生中获得的。当第一行先天免疫无法控制入侵时,将激活此功能。随着抗原的暴露和疫苗的免疫,它得以发展和增强。
    3. 被动免疫:或借来的免疫是短暂支持是从另一个人或生物获得的。例子包括抗体从母亲通过母乳转移到新生儿。

 

为什么需要免疫力?

  • 通过从体内清除细菌,病毒,寄生虫和真菌等微生物引起的感染和疾病。
  • 防止有毒物质从环境进入人体。
  • 对抗导致诸如癌症等严重疾病的慢性有害变化。

 

如何增强免疫系统?

现在我们了解了免疫系统如何在人体中发挥作用,让我们专注于如何将其维持在良好的状态。许多因素有助于增强免疫系统。这些包括睡眠,饮食,活动水平和环境影响。因此,将健康的改变纳入您的生活方式是最简单但最有效的措施。以下是三种增强免疫力的简单方法:

1. Eat Healthily:

书中最古老的把戏是饮食健康。超过70%的免疫系统位于肠道内,因此饮食构成健康的基础。饮食不足会因此损害您的免疫功能,并增加感染的风险和严重性。

即使所有垃圾食品看起来都很吸引人,也要定期食用均衡的健康饮食。在饮食中包括新鲜蔬菜,水果和鱼。食用富含维生素和足够矿物质的食物,例如柑橘类水果,谷物,乳制品,坚果,鱼类,种子,豆类,蘑菇,全谷类,深色多叶蔬菜和干果以及鳄梨,豆腐,贝类,奶酪。

另一个最重要的措施是计划进餐,添加具有增强免疫力的特性的成分,例如黑巧克力,油性鱼,菠菜,生姜,浆果,绿茶,姜黄等。

例如:在数百年以来,姜黄已被证实可以抗炎,抗微生物和抗癌活性。它还具有强大的抗氧化性能,可以排毒身体中的有害化学物质并减少运动引起的肌肉损伤。

2. 戒掉不良习惯:

这包括减少吸烟和饮酒,这会对免疫系统产生不利影响。酒精会破坏肠道的正常菌群,而肠道菌群是抵抗传染性微生物的屏障,使更多的有毒抗原进入血液并引起感染,从而对酒精产生负面影响。过量饮酒还会减少专门免疫细胞的数量,并导致剩余功能障碍。  

另一方面,吸烟通过降低血液中保护性抗氧化剂(如维生素C)的含量,增加了感染的风险。尼古丁是烟草烟雾的主要成分,是主要的免疫抑制剂,可抑制体内的先天和适应性免疫反应。

3. 充足的睡眠

睡眠期间,身体释放具有抗炎作用的保护性细胞因子。因此,缺乏优质的睡眠或只是剥夺睡眠会使您的身体更容易受到感染因子的影响,从而减少细胞因子的分泌。



zh_CNChinese
en_USEnglish zh_CNChinese

3 Ways to Boost Immunity

How Can you BOOST YOUR IMMUNITY

Are you tired of falling sick with every changing season? Or are your number of sick leaves increasing every month? Missing work and family time often due to sickness?

We understand that changing seasons and spreading epidemics can be worrying about one’s health. Not only they bring physical and mental challenges but they also adversely impact your wallet.

But what can be done on your side to escape these miseries you may ask?

Well, the best way to limit your sick days is by boosting your immunity. Yes, rather than spending a large amount of money on medicines and hospitals along with the trouble, it is better to prophylactically incorporate measures that can strengthen your body’s natural defense system. So below are three simple ways how you can boost your immunity, but before that let’s learn how the defense system in the body works.

What is the Immune System?

The immune system is a sum of special cells, organs, and chemicals that actively fight infections and harmful substances in your body- an activity labeled as immunity.

What Constituents the Immune System?

The main parts of the immune system are:

WHITE BLOOD CELLS (WBCs)

Also known as leukocytes, the WBCs are different types of blood cells that form the major part of the immune system. They include:

  • Phagocytes:cells that eat any invading organism and foreign substances entering the body.
  • Neutrophils:cells that specifically target bacteria and are the first cells to reach the site of injury. A specific increase in neutrophils is seen in blood reports in cases of bacterial infections.
  • Lymphocytes:cells that play an important role in immunity by recognizing infectious organisms and remembering them for future defenses. There are two types of lymphocytes: B lymphocytes and T lymphocytes. These are classified according to their site of migration after their production from bone marrow and their mechanism of fighting against diseases. Cells that stay in bone marrow after birth and mature are known as B cells. And those that migrate to the thymus and have maturation there are known as T cells.
    • B cells recognizing invaders and secrete antibodies that isolate them out, locking them in one place.
    • Whereas the T cell directly destroys the microbes presented to them by B-lymphocytes and other cells of the immune system and are therefore known as killer cells.

Antibodies

These are special proteins secreted by B-cells that not only lockdown and isolate invaders but also neutralize toxins (poisonous or damaging substances) produced by them.

Complement System

These are another set of proteins and glycoproteins that are secreted by various tissues and cells of the body such as liver, macrophages, blood monocytes, and special cells of the digestive and urinary tract. They enhance the activity of antibodies and phagocytic cells to destroy microbes and the infected cells.

How Does the Immune System Work?

Whenever the cells in the body identify a foreign substance (virus, bacteria, toxins, etc.) the immune system of the body is activated. The specialized cells of the immune system such as the neutrophils, phagocytes, and lymphocytes are recruited to the invaded site where they work together to kill the invading substance aka the antigen. The phagocyte eats the antigen whereas the neutrophils release the cytokines that kill the invader. The B lymphocyte assists by secreting antibodies that lock the antigen in one place for the effective action of other cells to occur.

This is similar to the working of most of the vaccines. A small dose of antigen is introduced in the body that is significant in quantity to activate the immune system to produce antibodies but not enough to cause infection. These antibodies than persist in the body throughout life and prevent any future infection from that agent.

How Many Types of Immunity Are There?

Humans have three types of immunity — innate, adaptive, and passive:

    1. Innate immunity: or the natural built-in immunity that is present in our body since birth. These include examples of skin: acting as a barrier from the environment and mucous membranes: clearing the respiratory and digestive tracts of infectious organisms.
    2. Adaptive immunity: or active immunity is what we acquire throughout our life. This is activated when the first line innate immunity is unable to control the invading insult. It is developed and enhanced with exposure of antigens and with immunization with vaccines.
    3. Passive immunity: or the borrowed immunity is short-lived support that is taken from another human or living being. Examples include antibodies that are transferred to a newborn from the mother via breast milk.

 

Why Is Immunity Necessary?

  • To prevent infections and diseases caused by microbes such as bacteria, viruses, parasites, and fungi by removing them from the body.
  • To fight against toxic substances entering from the environment into the body.
  • To fight against chronic harmful changes that lead to serious diseases such as cancers.

 

How You Can Boost Your Immune System?

Now that we understand how the immune system works in the body, let us focus on how we can maintain it in an excellent state. Many factors contribute to strengthening the immune system. These include sleep, diet, activity levels and environmental effects. Incorporating healthy changes in your lifestyle accordingly is the easiest yet the most effective measure. Following are three simple ways that can boost your immunity:

1. Eat Healthily:

The oldest trick in books is eating healthy. Over 70% of your immune system is situated in your gut and therefore your diet forms the foundation of your health. Dietary deficiencies can thus impair your immune function and increase both the risk and severity of infections.

Try to stick to a balanced healthy diet regularly even if all the junk food looks appealing. Include fresh vegetables, fruits, and fish in your diet. Aim for foods that are rich in vitamins and essential minerals such as citrus fruits, grains. dairy products, nuts, fish, seeds, beans, mushrooms, whole grains, dark leafy greens and dried fruits as well as avocados, tofu, shellfish, cheese.

Another most important measure is planning your meals to include ingredients with special immunity-boosting properties such as Dark chocolate, oily fish, spinach, ginger, berries, green teas, turmeric, etc.

For instance: turmeric has proven anti-inflammatory, anti-microbial, and anti-cancer activity known for centuries. It also has a strong anti-oxidant property that detoxifies the body of injurious chemicals and decreases exercise-induced muscle damage.

2. Quit Bad Habits:

This includes cutting on smoking and alcohol intake that adversely affects the immune system. Alcohol impacts negatively by disrupting the normal flora of the gut that is a barrier against infectious microbes, allowing more toxic antigens to enter the blood and cause infection. Excessive drinking also decreases the number of specialized immune cells and cause dysfunction in remaining.  

Tobacco smoking, on the other hand, increases the risk of acquiring infection by decreasing the levels of protective antioxidants (such as vitamin C), in the blood. Nicotine, the main constituent of tobacco smoke is a major immunosuppressant, which inhibits both the innate and adaptive immune responses in the body.

3. Sleep Adequately

During sleep the body releases protective cytokines that have anti-inflammatory actions. Therefore, the absence of good quality sleep or simply sleep deprivation can make your body more vulnerable to infectious agents with decreasing secretion of cytokines.



en_USEnglish
zh_CNChinese en_USEnglish